Dusting off the Cobwebs

It’s been over two weeks since I have posted here. I’m feeling guilty about that. After months of searching I finally got a new bike and since then I’ve been too busy to update my blog. What’s worse, is that I’ve only managed a couple of good rides.

My first good ride was two Sundays ago. I met my longtime friend Chris for a ride along the American River Bike Trail. Chris and I rode just under 15 miles according to Strava and my Cateye bicycle computer.

Strava Map

It was a good first ride and the weather was great. It was great to get out and ride and 15 miles was further than I’ve rode on a bike in probably 20 years.

This past Sunday, Chris and I rode again. We met at the same spot on the American River and this time we rode West instead of East. We rode from out starting point to the zero mile marker on the American River Trail in Discovery Park. From there, we continued on to Old Sacramento were we stopped for a smoothie and a break. This time we rode just under 18 miles. I figured we had to ride a few more miles than the week before. =) Here’s a few photos from Old Sac.

This morning my dear wife and I went for a short ride, her first ride in quite a long time as well. She rode the old Univega mountain bike and I rode the Focus. We’ll have to get her a new or newer bike at some point too but for now, the Univega is working. I’ll have more on that in a future post.

Leave a Reply

