Land Park Criterium

Yesterday morning, I headed out with my camera to attend the Land Park Criterium. The Wikipedia has an article on criterium events that’s pretty spot on. While I was there I was able to watch 3 different events Women 4, Elite 4 (Men) and Women 1,2,3.

I found out about the event from a friend’s post on Facebook. Thanks for promoting the event, Reed. The Land Park Criterium was promoted by the Sacramento Golden Wheelmen (SGW) a local racing team. SGW was founded in 1973 so it’s members have been riding together for as long as I’ve been living. This was the 39th annual Land Park Crit. The weather forecast was a bit sketchy and it did end up raining some yesterday but, while I was out at the race the track remained dry and there was very little wind. It was a bit cool but I don’t think any of the racers were complaining about the temperature.

Yesterdays event was only the second in the season for the Northern California Nevada Cycling Association (NCNCA) Premier Series.

I enjoyed watching the races, connecting with an old friend to talk about bikes and meeting some riders and racers. I took a lot of photos and many of them looked good on the 3 inch screen on the back of my Nikon D70 but, it turns out many of them were either soft or blurry. I’m not used to shooting subjects that are on the move. I should have bumped the shutter speeds up a bit. It was a rookie mistake, I guess it’s been awhile since I’ve taken some action shots. Had the skies not been so cloudy, things would have been better.

Regardless of my mistakes, I still managed to capture a few halfway decent shots. I’m looking forward to attending some more events this season. Maybe, if I’m lucky, I’ll have a nice lightweight carbon fiber conversation starter to take with me to future races.

Leave a Reply

