In the Studio

Earlier this evening, we shot the second segment of video for my Foundry Tradesmen video project. It was exciting to create something of my own. In my day job, I work in Information Technology and at my current job I wear a lot of different I.T. hats. One of the things that I do, is support teachers and students involved in video production.

I recommend audio and video equipment. I help with questions on software and hardware requirements for video editing applications. I provide training and support. I specify computers that will meet the requirements for specific audio and video editing suites. I’m involved supporting teachers and students involved in our Broadcast Journalism programs. My work however, doesn’t allow me many opportunities to create or edit content on my own. I mainly just swoop in when there are problems, get them resolved, and go on my way.

When I found out about the Foundry Tradesmen program and read that they would accept video submissions, I figured this program would be a great excuse to make a video. Foundry had already defined the project but, it was up to me to bring it to life.

Foundry Tradesmen Studio Still Image

We did a two camera shoot in an interview style format. The camera angles are supposed to give you an idea of what the final product of this imagined interview would look like and also give you a behind the scenes look at the studio production. I hope the final result is believable.

I think the biggest part of what I had to do for the shoot tonight was coordination. I needed to get my cast, crew and props all to be in the same place at the same time. All the people involved in the production are family and friends, who all have other full time responsibilities. I want to thank everyone who’s helped me with this project. I wouldn’t be able to pull this off without you.

Foundry Tradesmen Studio Still Image

The thing I was most worried about was my performance. I’m not an actor but, I hope I managed to fake it tonight. I guess that’s really what makes a great actor, the ability to fake it and have people believe your not faking it.

I’m not ready to reveal any more of the details on what my video is all about other than what I’ve already shared so you’ll just have to wait for the premiere. 🙂

Leave a Reply

